綠島

島嶼氛圍

綠島的歷史

火山般的開始

該島最初形成 經過 火山爆發期間 上新世  更新世 時代。它是由火山製成的 拉斑礦, 安山岩和火山爆炸碎片,面積15 平方公里。 它實際上是其中的一部分 呂宋火山 由於壓縮形成的岩漿弧 低調 海洋地殼,深度約 25 公里(或 16 英里)。安山岩含有晶體 輝石  閃石,肉眼可見。地球化學 島上的岩石表明它富含 鉀,     其他輕稀有元素。曾經存在於岩石中的鉻和鎳現在已經耗盡。  

 

名字的背後是什麼?

該島的名字有著有趣而多樣的歷史。該島最初居住著土著阿米斯人,他們將其命名為 Sanasai(近似翻譯)。後來,在 19 世紀和 20 世紀,綠島以名字而聞名 薩瑪薩那, 薩馬薩納和薩馬薩納。在拼音 羅馬化 是普通話 發音它被稱為 綠島 要么 呂道。在它的 Wade-Giles 羅馬化中,它被命名為 Lu Tao,在它的 Hokkien 中 發音它被稱為 Lek-to。在 1949 年之前,該島通常被中國人稱為 篝火島 (要么 火燒)。綠島的名稱被正式採用 中華民國 1949 年 8 月 1 日,奉命 縣令黃式鴻 當時的台東。 “綠島”這個名字是 島的翻譯 中國人 名字,寫的 作為綠島  傳統和   簡體字。群島原中文名 是Huǒsāo Dǎo。

動蕩的時代

該島最初被用作一個地方 流亡 為了 政治犯 在此期間 戒嚴 期間 台灣歷史。由於它的位置偏僻,它在國民黨期間被顯著地使用。 白色恐怖。在他們獲釋後,許多在 1940 年代後期至 1980 年代期間入獄的囚犯繼續建立 民進黨,最引人注目的是 當時被認為是高度“危險”的政治活動家的施明德。具有影響力的社會評論家、詩人和漫畫家博揚 還在島上服刑。

Green Island

Island Vibe

The History of Green Island

A Volcanic Beginning

The island was originally formed by a volcano eruption during the Pliocene and Pleistocene eras. It's made from volcanic tholeiite, andesite and volcanic explosive fragments and it boasts an area of 15 km2. It's actually part of the Luzon Volcanic Magma Arc which formed due to the compression of underthrusting oceanic crust, at a depth of around 25 kilometres (or 16 miles). The andesite rock contains the crystals pyroxene and amphibole, which are visible to the eye. The geochemistry of rock from the Island reveals that it is enriched in potassium, strontium and rubidium and other light rare elements. The chromium and nickel that were once present in the rock have now been depleted. 

 

What's behind the name?

The Island's name has an interesting and varied history. The island was originally inhabited by aboriginal Amis people, who named it Sanasai (approximate translation). Later, in the 19th and 20th Century, Green island was known by the names Sama-Sana, Samasana and Samasana. In the Pinyin romanization of it's Mandarin pronunciation it's known as Lüdao or Lü Dao. In it's Wade-Giles romanization it's named Lu Tao and in it's Hokkien pronunciation it's known as Lek-to.Prior to 1949, the Island was typically known by the Chinese as Bonfire Island (or Huoshao). The name Green Island was officially adopted by the Republic of China on August 1, 1949, on the orders of Huang Shih-hung(黃式鴻), the magistrate of Taitung at the time. The name "Green Island" is a translation of the island's Chinese name, which is written as 綠島 in traditional and  岛 in simplified characters. The islands original Chinese name was Huǒshāo Dǎo.

A Turbulent Time

The island was first used as a place of exile for political prisoners during the martial law period of Taiwanese history. Due to it's isolated location it was used prominently by the Kuomintang during the White Terror. After their release, many of the prisoners that were jailed between the late 1940s and 1980s went on to establish the Democratic Progressive Party, most notably Shih Ming-teh who was considered a highly 'dangerous' political activist at the time. The influential social critic, poet and cartoonist Bo Yang also served prison time on the Island. 

© Islands Dive 2019 | Design by Manni Hsu